The Offspring

This is our selection of beautiful The Offspring merchandise. These items would be wonderful in your home, and they make great gifts.

Menu:   Art   |   Famous People   |   Music

Click on a thumbnail or link to enlarge, see more information, purchase, or to browse for other items.

Note -- some items may be displayed without their full titles. This is indicated by "..." at the end of the title. To see the full title, move your mouse pointer over the image. In Internet Explorer, the full title will be displayed after a moment. In Netscape, right click on the image and select Properties; the full title will be displayed in Alternate text.

We offer a wide selection of items in every conceivable category (art, movies, music, television, travel, etc.):   posters, prints, photos,   t-shirts,   magnets,   life-size standups,   tin signs,   calendars,   frames,   wall decals,   limited editions,   canvas art,   giclees,   wall murals,   wall tapestries,   and other merchandise.

The Offspring is an American punk rock band from Orange County, California that originally formed in 1984, consisting of vocalist and guitarist Dexter Holland, Kevin 'Noodles' Wasserman (also on guitar), bassist Greg K. and Ron Welty on drums. In 2003, Ron Welty left the band and was replaced by Atom Willard.

Although their first album, The Offspring, was very similar to late 1980s punk, the next album, Ignition, saw them move away from more traditional punk, heading into the punk of the mid-1990s with songs like "Dirty Magic". It was 1994's album, Smash, that brought Offspring into the mainstream; it sold over eleven million copies worldwide.

In 1996, The Offspring jumped ship from Epitaph and signed with Columbia Records. Many punk rock purists criticized this decision, feeling that The Offspring jumped from an independent to a major label, solely for financial gain. They released their follow up to Smash in 1997, entitled Ixnay on the Hombre. The commercial success of this record was somewhat disappointing, only going on to sell four million copies.

On each album, The Offspring always tend to have a couple of songs based on social/political subject matter, a testament to their punk roots. Songs like "Jennifer Lost The War" and "Kill The President" on The Offspring, "L.A.P.D" on Ignition, "It'll Be A Long Time" and "Not the One" on Smash, and "Meaning Of Life" and "Change the World" on Ixnay On The Hombre, communicated the band's general position on social and political issues (though the band has not been known to be outspoken or active politically, especially by punk standards).

Although Smash was the album that originally brought The Offspring into commercial success and wide recognition, it was the release of "Pretty Fly (For A White Guy)" from the 1998 album Americana which established the band as a regular feature on MTV and established The Offspring as a regular chart presence. In 1995 the band formed their own record label, Nitro and released many punk groups, inclusive of The Damned's Grave Disorder. The Offspring often speak of The Damned's influence on the Califonia punk scene, covering and releasing as a single, "Smash It Up" by The Damned during The Offspring's commercial peak. Their latest is Splinter. They have been working on a greatest hits album as their only compilation titled Greatest Hits, which was released on June 21, 2005. The first single is "Can't Repeat". Also during the year, they are working on their 8th album of new material that will not be released until probably later in 2005 or earlier in 2006.

The Offspring appeared as an unnamed punk band in the 1999 horror-comedy Idle Hands, where Dexter Holland was scalped by the titular possessed hand.

On March 18, 2003, Ron Welty left The Offspring to devote all his energies on a new band "Steady Ground". The Offspring held auditions for a new drummer, ultimately selecting Atom Willard as the new drummer. Atom Willard played in Rocket From The Crypt for ten years and more recently played with Moth, the Alkaline Trio and Melissa Auf Der Maur.


Home  |  Contact  |  Store  |  Main posters menu